sunsets

i feel like sitting in a train and going on a long journey with no purpose of reaching somewhere. just so that i can sit still under a blanket – not shift an inch – stare out the window yet move miles every hour. the view outside the window would be of infinite plains, and the sun would travel steadily across the sky. when it switches sides, i would switch seats so that i could watch it set.

it ought to be like the little prince who moves his chair to watch the sunset over and over again. Here’s the part of the book where he talks of sunsets. i have always loved this book.

“I am very fond of sunsets. Come, let us go look at a sunset now.”
“But we must wait,” I said.
“Wait? For what?”
“For the sunset. We must wait until it is time.”
At first you seemed to be very much surprised. And then you laughed to yourself. You said to me:
“I am always thinking that I am at home!”
Just so. Everybody knows that when it is noon in the United States the sun is setting over France.
If you could fly to France in one minute, you could go straight into the sunset, right from noon.
Unfortunately, France is too far away for that. But on your tiny planet, my little prince, all you
need do is move your chair a few steps. You can see the day end and the twilight falling whenever
you like…
“One day,” you said to me, “I saw the sunset forty-four times!”
And a little later you added: “You know, one loves the sunset, when one is so sad…” “Were you so
sad, then?” I asked, “on the day of the forty-four sunsets?”
But the little prince made no reply.

One thought on “sunsets

  1. Just read that book for the second time a few months ago. The part about sunset was my favourite part too. :)

    I first read that book maybe around 10 years ago. Reading it again recently made me realize how much I’ve changed since the last time I read it.

    Quoting Cliff Fadiman, ‘When you reread a classic, you do not see more in the book than you did before; you see more in you than there was before.’

Leave a Reply

