rote ping, tuck box..usw, usw..

I have been listening to Aruna Lama’s song ‘Pohor Saal’ on repeat for the last three days or so. I spent tuesday night going through pictures I had taken in this year and last year – of my visits to different parts of the city (Kathmandu) and to Darjeeling and to my village in Lamjung.

Nostalgia is such a funny thing, isn’t it?

I was laughing and smiling all alone looking at the photographs and then I came across this really funny post on the Indian 90s. It’s called “100 Awesome things from the Indian 90’s, that’ll make you wanna go back.”  The 90s was my decade of growing into a teenager and experiencing a lot of the things mentioned in the post and so, I couldn’t stop laughing. Although it says India, a lot of them are applicable to Kathmandu too. But I do remember some of them from when I was a little kid and studying in Kalimpong, India. After studying at DGH for three years, I returned to Kathmandu in 1995, at the age of 10. When I look back, I feel like I had a terrible experience there (bullies) but there were fun times too and some of the things I remember now make me laugh. Especially those wrestling cards…which I have written about before too. :-P

When we were studying in India, we had two boxes – one for clothes and one for tucks – The Tuck Box. What are tucks? They’re slang for junk food. My brother, cousin and I all had a tuck box each. I actually still have mine at home, although it is not in a good shape. The Tuck Box was everything at that time and you only got to eat out of it once a week – I think. The rest of the week was a long wait….hahahahahaha…And one of the things we all loved was ‘powdered milk’ or Everyday. WHYYYY? I don’t know. The school I went to in Kathmandu, sadly didn’t allow any Tuck boxes… :-( but we sneaked in food anyways…hahaha.

At DGH, we lived in cottages and I was at the one called ‘Bene’. We had to pick up leaves in the garden every morning and polish all the brass knobs and the wooden floors during the weekends. Sometimes we had to polish the church – cottages got turns. And sometimes we would have a big bon fire in the evenings. I used to plant mango seeds (after eating them) with my friends in the garden. Of course, most of them would never sprout. I had a Five-rupee allowance (left by my ama) for every day at the canteen! How exciting was that now! I could buy all these peppermint candies and ‘stick-jaw’ candies.

And sometimes the ‘Boxy’ man would come and we would buy goodies from him..he carried the goodies in a box, which he carried on his head…thus, the name ‘Boxy’ man..hmm…. Sometimes, we would buy aloo thukpa on the streets – I have not tasted anything like it in Kathmandu. I’ve tried it at this small restaurant called ‘Noyoz’ in Baluwatar but it doesn’t taste the same. I think the thukpa is the trick – has to be the right thickness and taste. In Darjeeling, we tried aloo-mimi instead. hahahaha…and that was chilli potatoes (gravy one) in a packet of instant noodles. And it tasted really really good.

I took some pictures of the Ferris Wheel here at the Gothenburg…it is in the amusement park called ‘Liseberg’. I think you can easily guess which is our dear ‘rote ping’ at Bhrikuti mandap fun park. :-)

my language lesson for the day..hahaha..

usw means ‘und so weiter’ in German,
which means ‘etc’ in English, and that stands for ‘et cetera’.
In Swedish it is ‘osv’ – ‘och så vidare’.
In Nepali, it is ‘आदि’ or ‘adi ityadi’.

Any other languages, anyone?

Leave a Reply

