the usual

“Rageestar garne ho bahini?” the man behind the counter asked me, while I was writing out the address on the envelope. It took me a moment to understand his question. “Ah, ho, ho, register garne ho dai,” I looked up to reply. It was nearing 5 pm and I was the only person in the Sundhara Post Office.

He looked at my name on the envelope and then went the usual conversation.The one that I’ve had a gazillion times till now.

“Baini ko naam, Budhathoki hoki Burathoki? Budhathoki hoina?”

“Hoina dai tyestai ho. Mero naam kina tyesto ho, malai ni thaha chaina…..blah blah blah…”

“Unique cha..,” he laughed and I laughed with him.

“Aba tapaile mero naam birsinu hunna ni ta,” I told him.

I walked out of the post office, wondering if I was going to get a micro back home. It’s always such a headache to return home in the evenings. And that’s when something else put a smile on my face. I saw the (traffic) horse with a heart shape on it’s back. Brown and white – he is such a pretty one. I had my camera with me and was tempted to take a picture, but I decided not to. It’s these instances…of randomly seeing him on the streets of Kathmandu that make me smile.

How common are instances of seeing a stranger twice on the same day and that too, at different parts of the city? Or ending up on the same bus on your way back home? These rare coincidences and surprises put a smile on my face. :-) that too, a big one.

I walked this morning through the familiar streets of Bhotahity, Ason and Indrachowk – I don’t really know, where one ends and where the other begins. There’s a temple hidden in between Ason and Indrachowk, the Janabahaa. Even though I had walked through the road for years, I had never noticed the temple until 2009. Ever since, I visit it when I’m in the area. I don’t know what exactly draws me to it, since I’m not really religious. There’s something else in that courtyard, at least for me. I guess it’s one of those emotions that you can’t put into words. I think the fact that it’s a little hidden and in it’s own private courtyard that makes it mysterious. And it has an interesting mix of architecture – pagoda style temple, buddhist prayer wheels and greco-roman statues and pillars. It is the temple of Janabahaa Dyo or the White Machhendranath.

4 thoughts on “the usual

  1. It might the statue that is so out of place in that temple. I’m sure you must have noticed it too.She stands there, just in front of the temple, with a beacon in her hand. I guess she is as equally confused as the onlookers because she totally stands out from the rest. A Roman statue in a Hindu/Buddhist temple. Interesting, eh?

      • Yeah, the place sure is trippy. The Rana dude who installed the statue must have felt lots of stares (behind his backs mostly) when he got that statue to install there. The locals were probably like, “You want to install what here? That? Really?”

        :)

Leave a Reply

